FEMA announced a major disaster declaration in Breathitt, Clark, Clay, Estill, Floyd, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lincoln, Madison, Magoffin, Martin, Owsley, Perry, Powell, Pulaski and Rockcastle Counties as a result of the severe storms, flooding, landslides, and mudslides that happened earlier this year.  This makes federal funding available to individuals and business owners.


People who suffered property damage should register with FEMA, as they may be eligible for federal and state disaster assistance. People can register online at or via smartphone or Web-enabled device at Applicants may also call 800-621-3362 or 800-462-7585 (TTY) from 8 a.m. to 11 p.m. (ET) seven days a week.  Applicants should be prepared to provide basic information about themselves, any insurance coverage, and any other information to help prove their loss. The deadline to register with FEMA is Tuesday, June 22, 2021.


Update 6/17/21: The new deadline to register with FEMA is July 8, 2021


People who apply for FEMA assistance and are denied or are approved for less than what they asked for may appeal the decision.  Appeals must be filed within 60 days from the date of the decision.


Low-income individuals facing legal issues as a result of these severe storms and flooding may call 1-844-478-0099. This hotline is being hosted by AppalReD Legal Aid.  Callers should identify that they are seeking storm or flooding related legal assistance, should identify the county in which they are located, and should be prepared to provide a phone number where they can be reached by an attorney.

Posted: June 1, 2021